Pandemic Self-Interest: A Farewell to Humanity

Insufficient Light in an Ever-Darkening Time

Aaron DeBee
5 min readMay 12, 2020

I am heartbroken.

I’m having a difficult time accepting what we are, and it’s becoming harder and harder to deny. That humans are always flawed and often ugly is not a realization that I’ve come to for the first time recently, but my hopeful faith that there’s enough goodness buried inside us to at least balance us out is waning.

As a young man, after recovering from the harsh slap of reality that initially steals the doomed innocence of all aging children, I comforted myself with the idea that some level of goodness must still be inherent — that there was a small, virtuous voice inside most of us that could not be silenced. While I knew it couldn’t always win out, I elected to believe that it would choose its battles, that it would bide its time and then surface when necessary.

“We’re comfortable sacrificing the lives of others to maintain our own luxuries.”

The idea that an entire society would agree to make sacrifices for the good of all of its citizens appealed to me. Agreeing to eschew individual power and privilege to ensure that everyone ate and had shelter seemed like a no-brainer.

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.