False Facebook Fitness Fanatic

Aaron DeBee
5 min readJun 1, 2018

I’m a pretty ethically swishy guy with a sordid past, a hazy grasp of the distinctions between right and wrong, an occasionally loose definition of reality, and a pretty tarnished moral compass. So, I don’t really have room for any more skeletons in my poorly organized closet.

That’s why I’m going to go ahead and just leave this particular confession right here: I inadvertently conned my Facebook Friends into thinking I successfully pulled off some Herculean effort of diet and exercise, when that really couldn’t be further from the truth.

“It’s not so much willpower as laziness and ambivalence.”

First, let’s get a few things straight so this doesn’t happen again: 1) I am not promoting anything or looking for any kudos — that’s the opposite of where I’m going with this; 2) I’m still a dreadfully fat guy who relentlessly woos diabetes, pancreatitis, and heart disease like they’re the only daughters of wealthy 19th century landowners.

Anyway, the other day my girlfriend saw a picture of me from last year at about this time. A hometown friend of mine had shared his Facebook memory photos of an event I had attended, and he had tagged me. It must have been pretty cold pretty late in the year in Ohio last year, because at the end of May, I looked like I’d just eaten enough to…

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.