Getting Back Together With Uncle Sam

Reconciling With the VA After a Bitter Separation from the Military

Aaron DeBee
6 min readJul 3, 2018

I had a bad taste in my mouth, and I was choking on my pride. Neither would show up on my new patient questionnaire; there was no room alongside the motley combination of minor physical complaints and major psychological issues that I detailed. We wouldn’t have time to discuss that in the examination room today, but my few moments in the waiting room were my own.

Fourteen years ago, I spent the fifteen-plus hours of my journey from Honolulu, Hawaii, to Washington, D.C., listening to rock and roll anthems of freedom and independence won. Nestled into the first comfortable airplane seat I’d occupied in a long time, I basked and beamed, at least to myself, if not visibly. I was free of the yolk of the second military service contract I’d voluntarily signed, and I couldn’t have felt more alive.

I buzzed with energy within the confines of my seat, rewinding and reviewing the nuanced details of my new independence. For the first time in a dozen years, I wasn’t “traveling as a representative of the Air Force and the Armed Forces” regardless of whether or not I was wearing the same casual clothing popular with civilians of my age and economic status.

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.