Aaron DeBee
1 min readMar 25, 2018

--

I don’t disagree with anything you said, and I support it in every way. I didn’t address holding perpetrators responsible in this particular article because I think it is being addressed. I’m not saying that there is not a lot of work left to do there; I’m saying that I believe there isnow (finally) a chorus of public voices demanding change from the perpetrators. I think that’s what the #MeToo campaign ignited for us. I’m suggesting that in addition to demanding that the perpetrators act differently (which is the first and most important step), we also need to let the victims know that it is okay for them to act differently. I’m saying that when that young women in that small town feels like she has to go along with sexual harassment to keep her job, we encourage her to let the town know she’s being harassed so that the community can hold the boss/perpetrator responsible and so that the community can make an effort to find her another position (I’m from a very small, rural Ohio town, where there are no jobs, so I sympathize, but I also know that ostracism [of a boss or business] in a small town can be professionally and socially crippling to that perpetrator).

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.