I Don’t Even Remember What I Wanted to Call This Article

Aaron DeBee
3 min readMar 16, 2018

I can’t remember anything. I don’t know what degree of forgetfulness you just envisioned, but believe me, it’s worse than that. I know this because the people in my life who experience it every day can’t even wrap their minds around it.

It’s not age-related. I am in my early 40s now, but I’ve been this way forever. I don’t have a medical condition that I’m aware of; I’m just very forgetful.

I feel like I have tried everything to remedy it or even to compensate for it, but nothing has worked. A number of people close to me have suggested that I simply pay more attention to things — that it’s a matter of focus or prioritization. No one believes me, but I really have tried. It was a miserable failure.

I make lists for myself. I love lists. I even make them on my phone so that I’ll have them with me. Then I forget where I put my phone and/or forget to even look at the lists.

I’ve tried setting alarms and planner notifications for myself, but then I get so many notifications that I begin to just ignore them, and I’ve still not even scratched the surface of all the things I would need to set notifications for. It gets even worse that that. I sometimes get a notification, look at it, put my phone away, and then immediately completely forget about the notification THAT I JUST READ.

It’s amazingly instantaneous. I can forget about something within seconds of being aware of it. I know this because acting on things more…

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.