Natural Born Suicidal

Surviving Yourself is a Struggle When Even Your Own Existence Feels Wrong

Aaron DeBee
4 min readSep 17, 2018

My new depression and anxiety medications arrived in the mail today. I opened them an hour or two before the city’s “Be the Light” Walk, an event intended to “prevent suicide and reduce stigma.” I can’t help but feeling that it shouldn’t be this hard.

The left upper corner of my lip feels like it is curling into a sneer or a snarl. It’s the latest in a history of facial tics related to my mental state. I’m not sure if they are even visible. It’s always hard to know what people can and cannot see from the outside.

Less than a week ago, I was sitting in the psychiatrist’s office, a goal I’d accomplished only after a litany of referrals and intake interviews. Hopelessness turned to anger, turned to frustration, turned back into hopelessness, as I struggled to even explain my struggle to a professional who is trained to hear struggles like mine.

“Our minds are not built to fathom the effects of completely relentless pain a priori.”

My failures to connect with other people in a meaningful manner accumulate, build and erupt into desperate behaviors that cause further disconnection and sap the wills of those close to me to remain…

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.