PackersEve: Predictions Prior to Pre-Season Play

Thoughts as I Enter my First Full Season as a New Packers Fan

Aaron DeBee
8 min readAug 9, 2018

I’m going to be called an even greater number of derogatory names during this NFL season than perhaps in any season in my lifetime. I know it, and I welcome it. Some of them will even be true, and I don’t mind that either.

I’m getting ready to enter my first full NFL season living in Green Bay. By the time I got here last year, Aaron Rodgers had already been injured, and my long-time favorite team, the Cleveland Browns, were already convincingly on their way to an 0–16 season. That, combined with an interstate relocation on my part, was the fast-track to not giving a damn about the rest of the season.

GETTING BACK IN THE GAME

That was last year, though, and to be honest, I’ve regretted it ever since. You see, I’m not one to quit something, even when continuing it is punishingly brutal. Hell, I’ve followed the Browns closely and faithfully since the new team started there in 1999. Before that, I was a Colts fan when they were going “0 and a billion” prior to the arrival of Peyton Manning.

So, I’m rededicated this year, but in a new place. Sure, I’ll still follow and root for the Browns. That trainwreck of a relationship will probably never end…

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.