Rushing Age: Premature Planning for the Inevitable

Considering the Twilight Years for Parents Who Don’t Want To

Aaron DeBee
6 min readJun 3, 2019

Somewhere on the midnight highways leading home to my older brother’s memorial service, I temporarily set aside thoughts of his death to confront the oncoming future. He wasn’t going to be around to care for my parents.

He’d passed unexpectedly, and the impact of the loss radiated outward to those around him with profound and far-reaching force. He was my mother’s oldest son, but growing up in different households had helped foster an amicable distance between us that we regretfully never made the necessary efforts to close.

So, during the week between his death and his memorial service, while our mother, our respective fathers, his wife, and his children were completely consumed with grief, I had occasion now and then to think beyond the next ten days. Among the dishes delivered by family friends, and in those quiet hours that book-ended the consolatory visits of the day, I allowed the realities of the future to sink in.

I let it pass without mention until a few days after the memorial service when it seemed appropriate to everyone that I should return to my life states away. “Before I leave,” I segued as gently as I could, “perhaps we should talk about what happens next.” It…

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.