Sparkling Water and Balconies: A Search for Practical Asceticism

A Beginner’s Attempt at Dualist Separation Through Intermittent Fasting, Minimalism, and Contemplation

Aaron DeBee
5 min readAug 18, 2018

“Hunger hurts, but starving works.” It’s an old Fiona Apple lyric, and I’ve always admired the naked truth of it. More often than not, truth and comfort are at odds with one another, and we have to make an individual decision about which we’ll pursue more earnestly.

I’m admittedly new to the study of gnosticism, dualism, and even minimalism, although I’d like to think each appeals to my inherent nature. I’ve always needed very little and wanted even less. I’ve never been focused on my own appearance, health, or physical comfort, and I’ve always considered my mind/spirit a more accurate reflection of myself than my body. I’ve also always considered the individual pursuit of enlightenment more valid than proselytizing.

I’ve long believed that growing up with adversity tends to either make a person more comfortable with it or vehemently bent on escaping it. My family always struggled financially, and minimalism has always come easily and naturally to me, presumably as a result. So, without making a conscious decision to do so, that’s where I started.

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.