Where My Fat Guys At?

The Search for Dad-Bod Ken

Aaron DeBee
5 min readJun 18, 2018

Last I checked (in the mirror), there were fat guys in the world. We’re not hard to spot, but somehow we’re still managing to be ignored.

In fact, in a culture that’s specifically focusing on improving body image and combating body-shaming, fat guys seem to be shuffling under the radar.

I understand that body-shaming is a problem, and I understand that women are most negatively affected by it. I understand and agree that we need to take measures to correct body image issues. I just don’t understand why we need to limit that correction to only women.

No one is arguing that there is more societal pressure for women to conform to certain body types; I’ve written about it myself, in fact. There is, however, an active and ongoing effort to rectify that. For instance, some stores like Target are currently deploying female mannequins of varying body types.

--

--

Aaron DeBee

Freelance Writer/Blogger/Editor, veteran, Top Rated on Upwork, former Medium Top Writer in Humor, Feminism, Culture, Sports, NFL, etc.